• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Giving up then returning back to martial arts

Have you given up martial arts only to return to it again?

It is not uncommon for people to start matial arts then to put it on hold and return later.

How difficult was it to return to martial arts?

How long of a gap have you had between stopping and returning to your martial art journey?

Why did you stop your martial art training and what brought you back on track?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I did. I started when I was 8 years old and trained until I was 12. I then quit to join the basketball team.

After I finished college and moved back home, I was looking for something to get involved with to socialize and give my life some purpose (I graduated in the middle of the recession and I had a rough few years right out of college). I looked up my old instructor on Facebook and sent him a message.

So it was about a 10 year break. It took a few months to remember things, but since it was the same school and I remembered some of the more basic forms, I got back up to snuff quickly and was moving forward again within six months.

I stopped when I was about 12 but only for 2 years, started up again at 14 with a new style :)

Stop due to family issues, missed it and wanted to get back into it.

Ashley Aldworth

Train together, Learn together, Succeed together...

I trained for a little over 7 years, from 1994-2001. I was 18 when I started and 25 when I had to stop. I was preparing to test for my 2nd dan.

Mid-August of 2001, I was offered a graduate assistantship 5 hours away. I was scheduled to test for 2nd dan the first weekend of October, but obviously couldn't make it. I figured I'd be back in 2 years and pick up where I left off. I met my wife during a trip home from grad school. I was offered a good job 2.5 hours away from my home in the opposite direction a few weeks before I graduated.