• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

'clunking' lower left back (sacrum?)

grenage

Hi there,

I'm rather new to martial arts (or any exercise) beyond a year of karate as a child. I'm really enjoying it, but have a question regarding some agitation I'm getting on one side of my lower back.

When performing kicks with my left leg, there is a horrible clunking sensation in what feels like the top of my pelvis, at the very bottom of my back. It's not painful, although I am experiencing a little tenderness the next day - and a much lesser feeling of the clunk when I walk with my left leg.

Could anyone suggest the cause, or recommend any exercises to build up/placate the area? I appreciate that the description is vague, but it's quite hard to pinpoint the position exactly. I'm nearly 34, and while I'm thin, I spend far too much time behind a desk at work.

Thank you for any advice you might be able to offer.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

It may be just because you're doing more exercise than your body has been used to doing. When I first started back at karate a few years back, my hip would click every time I kicked, sometimes it felt as if my hip was about to dislocate and the pain was rather intense. It doesn't do it anymore, even when I do high kicks. So I gather it was my body adjusting to something new. Be sure to warm up properly and do some stretching before class and also on days when you have no class. Your Sensei should be able to show you some good stretches for this area. I've recently started doing yoga stretches for the lower back and hips and have found it to be of immense benefit, so maybe it would be of use to you too. Google will bring up plenty exercises and how to do them properly.

That said, if it persists, I would go see a doctor to rule out anything more serious, you don't want to push things too far and maybe rule yourself out through an injury that could have been avoided.

Mo.