• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Books about the history of Karate

shortyafter

Hey there Senpais and friends. This is my first time posting on the forums. I'm looking forward to posting more.

I started practicing Kyokushinkai just over a year ago, in the US. I just googled "karate" and there happened to be a Kyokushin dojo 10 minutes walking from my house. Good stuff!

I have since moved to Spain and the style we have in my small town is Shotokan. I have also grown to like it very much.

As my interest in karate grows, I'd like to know something of the history of karate - in general. I don't know if it's possible to get it all in one book - from the origins, to Shotokan, to Kyokushinkai (and other variations). If not, then specific books from within those styles. Particularly, however, something that touches on the general origins.

Also - I'd like something that touches on the philosophy / art of Karate. Less about technique, and more about, the metaphysical aspects. If such a book exists.

I will take any and all recommendations. Thanks much. Osu!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Welcome to KF, shortyafter; glad that you're here!! :bowofrespect:

I've some suggestions for you...

1) Look into KF's General Martial Arts forum. Once there, click on the thread at the top labeled "Sticky: Martial arts research library"...here's the link as well...

http://www.karateforums.com/martial-arts-research-library-vt8082.html

Once there, you'll find an endless plethora of book listings and the like, to satisfy, as well as, quench the thirst of MA related sources.

2) Karate: The Art of "Empty-Hand" Fighting by Hidetaka Nishiyama and Richard C. Brown have inspired hundreds of thousands of karateka, and it remains one of the finest texts available on the technique, art, and spirit of karatedo. It's a great book for anyone interested in Shotokan.