• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Proud day for me

Bruisbe

At the start of Aug, my son and I started training in Shuri-ryu at the Acadamy of Okinawan karate. This was about a month before he turned 5 (He turned 5 on Sept 1st). I had taken Karate when I was younger and loved it and I was hoping he would take interest in it as a way for me to get back into it and have something besides baseball for him and I to bond over.

(Of course there is the respect, self-discipline, etc. that he is getting a great deal of as well.)

Unfortunately, I have not been able to watch his kids sessions as they are on Tuesdays and Thursdays and I am currently working on my MBA and taking night classes to get that completed.

At any rate. The attached picture is from last Tuesday during his "kids class". I was sitting in my MBA course and my wife texted me this picture. He was selected for the first time to be the up front leader as they ran through the drills while Sensi went around to the other students to make sure they have the correct form.

He has gotten really good with his form and understanding of the basic principles of Karate. He has even got several of the Japanese words down and refers to them as such instead of the English alternative. (ex. Tate-Zuki, Seikien -Zuki, Moroto Empi Ata etc. Sorry for some of the mispellings if there are any in there...lol)

There was one day a couple weeks ago I heard him playing in his room all of a sudden I hear "Shomen ni rei" and "Sensi ni rei" and he was "showing his action figures" what he had learned. It is just so cool that just barely 5 years old, that he is learning such an ancient form of respect.

This gives me soooo much hope for the next generation...lol

http://i.imgur.com/TWiCtVM.png

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

That's awesome! It's great when kids are involved and excited in their training!