• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Yet another stretching thread

aes

I know this topic has been posted and reposted here. I have read the existing threads but none of them seem to apply directly to my issue.

I am a 41 year old newbie MA. I love it but my lack of flexibility is going to be my biggest downfall. I cannot deliver a high to the head kick with either a front or roundhouse or crescent kick. This is a big problem for me because many forms will not be as impressive without higher kicks and I like to spar and I have limited options with such a low kick.

So I am working on quick stretches that I can do multiple times a day to improve my flexibility.

I read some of an old edition of Stretching Scientifically and found it too complex to apply to a daily routine. I have asked my Sensei's and they don't seem to have any good routines that I can do to help either.

Here is what I have come up with:

I try to do this 3 times a day.

I do sideways leg raises where I move my leg up and down over and over with knee straight. This tends to warm my muscles up and adds strength to the muscles on the sides that help hold the leg up.

I then go into what I think is called a Y split (toes forward legs outstretched in an inverted Y). I hold it and slowly turn my body and lean in one direction holding it and then do the other side.

I pull on the groin muscles like I am trying to pull my legs together then increase this stretch doing this several times. I hold the final position for about 2 minutes.

I walk it in heel toe then try to touch my toes and hold it with my legs straight for a good while.

After Karate class with my legs good and warmed up I will also go onto a stretch machine and hold my legs stretched for a while and see if any progress has been made (currently only make it to 120 degrees in the machine).