• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Newbie : unnecessary pain during practice,blocks, hits ...

goedikey

Hi,

I have been doing Shotokan for a few months (yellow belt) and we often have to practice one on one doing blocks and kicks etc...

Smetimes, my mate's blocks really hurt and I am scared of going any further. He litteraly knocks his bones to mine at 90 degrees which hurts like theres no tomorrow.

I tell him to try and ease but he cant do without !

This often happens with other members as well.

Wat to do ?

My sensei tells me that if I tense up my arms enough, my muscles will cover the bones, which is mostly true until I received a block to my ankle in the same fashion as above (massive, 90degreee with bone to bone).

Now my muscles wont cover my ankle !

I can also sense that eventualy, I will have to take blow to my chest and I dont know how I will deal with that...

Thanks foryour comments...

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Some people can be real ba**ards when it comes to blocking, as you progress your technique will improve then it will be payback time.

The main thing to remember is that you are able to take a hit or a block and still survive. What doesn't kill you makes you strong.

My only advice is to keep focused and try not to think too much about how it’s going to hurt, mental and physical preparation for pain is one of the many rewarding lessons taught in the martial arts journey.

To paraphrase some B grade movie “Make pain your friend”, at least if it hurts you know you’re still alive. :D

John G Jarrett

III Dan, ITF Taekwon-Do

If you dont like it the only thing i can surgest is talk it over with your sensei or stop training. You can't expect not to be hit while taking part in something like karate.

What doesn't kill you makes you strong.

Getting hit by a car makes you stronger??? :P