• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

GKR Karate

Cactus_Gazz

I've read alot of things about gkr karate and i have been doing it for a few months and i am a bit worries, Will i ever learn other strikes apaer from basics and will i learn more than four kicks? And i also dont know how to put power into a punch. Are there any GKR karate people that have any stories that would reassuse me if i got into a street fight?

And one last thing, are there any exersicing practeses that i can do to be more flexible?

Thanks for reading throuigh that and sorry for the spelling!

Yellow Belt - GKR Karate

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

patience! all martial arts start of with the basics. you'll learn new things as you progress. i don't know that much about GKR, but i don't think its vastly different from other styles of karate. in shotokan i spend 3 months practicing 2 blocks, 1 punch and 1 stance.

if you persevere and keep at it, you will learn more techniques. you cannot learn advanced techniques before you master the basics.

4 basic kicks might not sound like a lot, but what else can you do? front kick, side kick, roundhouse, reverse roundhouse...what else is there? there's some back kicks and more difficult kicks but you won't be able to them until you master the basics. i didn't learn any kicks until about 4 months into training.