• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

question about flexiblity

Angelus

hi just a quick question i have been doing taekwon do for a couple of months (my first ever MA training and i am loving it :) ) but i have not noticed any increase in my flexiblity and hieght of kicks,

any info on how long it takings before you will notice or advise of streaching and how ofton i should would be great,

A black belt is a white belt that never quit!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

It all relies on your dedication to the art of stretching and the intensity of the stretches that you are doing in class. Remember that the stretch should feel extremly uncomfortable, but nit to the piont to where you cannot walk afterwords.

Another question is are you only stretching at home or do you only stretch in class. When I was a Gymnast, our practice was 3 and 1/2 hours long. Our stretches went for 30 minutes. And then another 30 min at the end of practice. Teh stretches were always intense.

Another factor is age, if you are fairly young, say under the age of 15 then becoming flexible is easy. But once you start to get into your late teens andbeyond then you have to stretch twice as hard and twice as much as any youngster.

"We work with being, but non-being is what we use" Tao Te Ching

hi and thanks for the reply,

i am 20, and i only really stretch in class ( 3 times a week) mainly cos i dont wanna do any wronge by myself and hurt myself , would you know any web sites with advise on the stretchs and a few diagrams would help :)

A black belt is a white belt that never quit!

i've got a question about stretching

how do you know you've caused a stretching injury?

a friend (who is a gymnast) once told me that any soreness afterwards is bad because it means you've ripped.

I'm feeling soreness at the moment, but I stretched box splits at my normal height the other day - it just felt a bit more strained than usual...