• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

black belt test on sunday. need food tips

Peace

I have a hudge black belt test on sunday. around 9 hours long. lots of physical activity with 2-4 food breaks that are 5 minutes long. i need tips on what to eat or bring. besides water and fruit? any other ideas?

Wanna stay alive.. stay with me

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I'm no expert, but if I were doing that I'd concentrate on quick, easily digestible stuff.

- sports drinks to replace electrolytes

- some sort of protein mix/shake with carbs

Shitoryu Itosukai

Tsuruoka Karate

Well here are just a few tips that might help you out. I had to literally force myself to eat before each of my tests.... (but then again they weren't 9 hours long!! :o ) I also tend to lose my appetite when I am nervous .... and you will be I am sure.

Make you are well-hydrated before the test as well as during (500ml of a 6% sports drink one hour before is fine)

Empty your bladder beforehand! :D

Drink small amounts regularly

A solid meal should be eaten about 3 to 4 hours before your test...(allowing for the stomach to be relatively empty before you begin)

Choose high carbohydrate, low fat foods

Try a liquid or low fibre meal if you suffer from nerves. Liquid meals have some advantages over solid meals. They are well balanced, have a high carbohydrate content, have little bulk. Some of these liquid meals are Ensure, Ensure-plus, Nutriment, Slim Fast, instant breakfasts, etc. For extra energy bring a package of Carnation Instant Breakfast mix it with a carton of milk duriing one of your food breaks.

Stay away from foods like chips, beans or spicy foods ...these foods may cause heart burn or stomach upset. High sugar foods & drinks also lead to stomach upset and diarrhea. Not something you need on the day of the test!. Large amounts of sugar and soda may even cause the you to have less energy.