• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Help! Student conducting research

Hello all,

I am a student at Denison University who has been conducting research with my advisor for the past year and a half on the impact of martial arts practice on interpersonal conflict, intrapersonal conflict, and perceptions of violence and emotion. Basically, I am trying to put some hard numbers and data behind what many believe to be central traits that are developed through the practice of martial arts. I am hoping to get a peer-reviewed article published about this, but desperately need more data. Would anyone on here be willing to fill out the attached survey and email to me?

It would be greatly appreciated. I am currently at around 30 data points but would really like to have around 100 for a good data set.

My email is gaumer_p1@denison.edu and the survey is located at https://drive.google.com/file/d/1H3NQFgN7R6yOMJeVYsl58M5Yb-9yh3fX/view?usp=sharing

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Thanks for sharing your questionnaire, some of the information feels a bit vague. Especially in relation to ones education; as many countries don’t use the term College but instead use University.

In a way I feel like it could have been done electronically, so people can do it whereever they are and not having to spend time editing on Adobe.

Also there is a spelling error in how you spelt Aikido; as you wrote “Aekido”

And may be worth adding or clarifying question 8 on page 9. As you could have some errors in responses, when people won’t understand or know where they fall.

I'd worry about the validity of such a study...

1) Having folks self-select to do the survey makes it invalid. Ideally, you should be looking for a more random way to select people to participate.

2) This is the internet. There's no way to prove that I, or anyone else on this forum has the necessary experience in the martial arts.