• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Opinions on Self Taught Martial Arts

I wanted to get some opinions on this subject. I know that there are people that do live in the middle of nowhere with no school/dojo/kwoon within a reasonable driving distance or if a person was introverted enough to not interact with anyone. My question is: is self taught martial arts a good idea (and practical) to practice?

I know that some martial arts such as Muay Thai or Western Boxing could be self taught well enough, but I'm pretty sure Karate, Taekwondo, Kung Fu, BJJ or a multitude of other arts might be out of the question due to forms.

Oh, and "self taught" could mean being taught from a book or a video.

"When I have listened to my mistakes, I have grown." ~Bruce Lee

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey there neo, well I think this has come up plenty and I would say the biggest thing is feedback that matters most. In my opinion personally, some can learn better then others from video, or even a book. I mean, sure you can learn martial arts just as how to repair an engine from a book, it's not as easy of course, as a 16 year mechanic I can guide you easily and give you many quick pointers from experience and make learning tremendously easier then a book. It's no different then martial arts. I have learned things from books and videos, but it's tremendously easier to learn from a living, breathing human being.

It's the feedback and interaction that makes learning best. The answer to "what makes a good teacher" is a similar answer to your question I think.