• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Is "Recorder Karate" culturally insensitive?

Is "Recorder Karate" culturally insensitive?  

10 members have voted

1. 1. Is "Recorder Karate" culturally insensitive?

• Yes
    • No

Hello there! I am not a practitioner of martial arts - I am actually an elementary music teacher. I am on this site because my students use a recorder curriculum called "Recorder Karate." In this curriculum, students earn coloured "belts" for their recorders as they learn new songs. I think the curriculum is well-designed, but I worry that it's culturally insensitive - making light and fun something that is ancient and serious. Does anyone have thoughts on this?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Personally, I don't see a problem. It's a great learning tool, encourages work and progress. It's clearly not a cut on karate or any other art. I hope it's successful for you and the students using it.

As long as you're not using fake Asian accents, stereotypical absurd sounds and the like, I don't see a problem.

I teach middle school science. I do a review game I call Grandmaster. Two students in the front seats, the rest behind them. All students have dry erase boards. First student in the front to write the correct answer stays up front, and the other one goes in the back. Every time the student "beats" another student, they move up a belt rank. Students are awarded Grandmaster when they beat every other student in the class without losing. Once they lose, they're back to white belt.

The kids love it. Only thing is, they sometimes argue the order of belt colors. I go Seido karate belt order. The kids who take/took Tae Kwon Do give me a hard time about colors and order. Karate Grandmasters typically wear a red belt, whereas red belt is a rank below black belt in TKD.

Only an insecure MAist would take offense to what you're doing.