• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Why does Green Belt have the biggest drop-out rate?

Shotokannon

Hi Everyone!

I've been doing Shotokan for about 8 months, I just got graded to Green belt and I'm told it's the hardest period for Karateka to go through, from Green to Purple is the hardest transition according to my Sensei.

I'm just wondering all you post green belts, how did you find the Experience? Do you know anyone who has dropped out after Green?

Knowing others is wisdom, knowing yourself is Enlightenment. ~ Lao-Tzu

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm guessing that a lot of people think that they're not moving fast enough up the ranks. I've noticed a lot of the younger students learn a few new things and believe they're ready for the next belt automatically. There were 3 younger (10, 10, and 11) guys in our club. They progressed pretty quickly in the beginning. They were all pretty athletic and retained things very well. However, when they all got to Orange belt, we started working them on their next kata, and we began to focus on not only knowing the moves, but knowing their meanings. One of the students could do the "choreography", but his technique was lacking, and he didn't demonstrate the true knowledge of the kata. He told our C.I. that "he was ready for his green belt because he knew his kata". Our C.I. told him that it takes more than going thru the motions to earn the next belt. Shortly after, he stopped coming. And shortly after that, his brother and cousin dropped out as well.

Also, they're starting to get into more than just basics and choreography, so some may start to realize that it's a little more difficult than they thought.

Seek Perfection of Character

Be Faithful

Endeavor

Respect others

Refrain from violent behavior.