• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

kata for tournaments

student_karateka

Hi All

I am a 4th Kyu student. I am trying to decide if I should keep Pinon Shodan as my tournament kata or move on to something more "advanced" like bassai dai. I do also like Seisan which might be considered somewhere between Pinon Shodan and Bassai Dai. My question is should I continue using Pinon Shodan now that I'm getting closer to 1st Kyu (and eventually my Sho Dan hopefully) or should I switch my tournament kata to something more complex. I really like Pinan Shodan and have won with it though it may be time to move on.

train hard!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What kata are being run by your competition? You should be comparable to them, so if they're all running Pinan kata, then Pinan Shodan is fine, if it's your best kata. If they're running Seisan and Passai, then you'll probably need to step up.

Kishimoto-Di | 2014-Present | Sensei: Ulf Karlsson

Shorin-Ryu/Shinkoten Karate | 2010-Present: Yondan, Renshi | Sensei: Richard Poage (RIP), Jeff Allred (RIP)

Shuri-Ryu | 2006-2010: Sankyu | Sensei: Joey Johnston, Joe Walker (RIP)

Judo | 2007-2010: Gokyu | Sensei: Joe Walker (RIP), Ramon Rivera (RIP), Adrian Rivera

Illinois Practical Karate | International Neoclassical Karate Kobudo Society

Like wastelander said what kata are they specifying you can or cannot do?

are you good with Bassai Dai + Seisan? I mean do you know the full pattern for both and make them look strong and timing is good?

If Pinan Shodan is your best kata go for it. But depending on the type of tournament that you are competing in.