• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Stretches to get my kicks high? Help!

Okay, so I'm already doing the splits daily to get further down. How do I stretch my hip flexors, because I've heard that they are the things that help you kick higher. And currently, I can only kick waist high. I've been needing help for 6 years now. Please give me all the information of stretches and possibly workouts that you know will help get my kicks higher.

I would like these stretches to be for sidekicks please.

Needing help with stretches. Look for my post.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

If you want to stretch your hip flexors static stretches alone won't cut it, you need to work in some dynamic stretches. You can find loads of useful dynamic stretches on YouTube. Get some ankle weights and do your kicks very slowly. I have had similar problems with kicks (mainly round house) and I'm seeing a marked improvement in my height.

M.

Be water, my friend.

As suggested, look up hip flexor stretches, and there should be plenty that come up. The "warrior lunge" stretch is a good one. You can also stand and hold your ankle with your hand from behind, and stretch it that way.

With that said, the hip flexor was never the issue for me and kicking higher. I did more split stretching than anything else, and that helped get my kicks higher.

Look up a book called Stretching Scientifically, by Thomas Kurz. I've heard lots of good things about it, and might be helpful to you.

Practice is always a good thing. The more you do it the better the easier it becomes.

Always push, but not to far,if its hurting it hurting for a reason!

Breath, always breath deeply and in a controlled fashion, try to stay as relaxed as you can!

It will come in time, its not a race!

;-)

Edit:

recalled another thread along the same lines, had a search for it, have a read:

http://www.karateforums.com/flexibility-vt46917.html