• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

New To Karate. What to start with?

dirtyfishtank

Hi all,

For ages I've been really keen to take up Karate. I've never done any martial arts before, but I'm finally committed and determined to start, but I realized there are many different styles and I was confused immediately. In my area, without travelling too far I have an option of Kyokushin, Goju or Koshinkan.

I am aware Kyokushin is full contact, and that doesn't really bother me (in fact I like the idea). But is it completely different to other styles or more traditional karate? Is it a good idea to start with this? Is it recoginzed everywhere? What about Goju? Does that have contact sparring (which I would prefer). I have no idea what Koshinkan is but the website says "we teach both old and modern karate". What does that mean?

If anyone can provide any advice or links to anything useful that would be hugely appreciated. Thanks

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Welcome to the forum!

To answer some of your specific questions, I will say that Kyokushin is widely recognized in the karate world, but there are MANY organizations that govern it, which can get confusing. Goju-Ryu is also widely recognized, but I couldn't tell you whether there will be contact sparring or not--there SHOULD be, and old school Goju-Ryu will likely have contact sparring, but not all schools do it. Koshinkan is actually a karate organization, rather than a style, and is meant to preserve some old styles of karate like Kojo-Ryu. While the material of the Koshinkan might be good, there may be some unusual things that they do, it won't be recognized widely, and there likely won't be contact sparring (although I could be wrong on that).