• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

New to forums, new to Karate

TheNx

Hello everyone, I'm new to martial arts and this board. I did karate like 20 years ago when I was very young, don't remember much lol. I got back into it this year and I just earned a yellow belt last week. The style is Okinawan Karate, ryu-te, oyata shin shu ho ryu.

I have always had an interest in martial arts, but just never committed. Finally my wife encouraged me to do it. I really enjoy it, for he discipline, challenge and workout.

What other supplemental exercises do you do with karate? I'm really trying to get back into shape.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Welcome to the forum and welcome back to Karatedo. I study Shukokai Karate, I practice Kobudo, Qi Gong and Yoga. I also go to the gym for cardio and strength training twice a week.

Look to the far mountain and see all.

Welcome to the forum, and to karate! Oyata Sensei's system has a lot of good, interesting stuff in it--stick with it!

Kishimoto-Di | 2014-Present | Sensei: Ulf Karlsson

Shorin-Ryu/Shinkoten Karate | 2010-Present: Yondan, Renshi | Sensei: Richard Poage (RIP), Jeff Allred (RIP)

Shuri-Ryu | 2006-2010: Sankyu | Sensei: Joey Johnston, Joe Walker (RIP)

Judo | 2007-2010: Gokyu | Sensei: Joe Walker (RIP), Ramon Rivera (RIP), Adrian Rivera

Illinois Practical Karate | International Neoclassical Karate Kobudo Society

Welcome :) I like to jog and lift weights to supplement my training as well as yoga from time to time.

The past is no more; the future is yet to come. Nothing exist except for the here and now. Our grand business is not to see what lies dimly at a distance, but to do what's clearly is clearly at hand...Lets continue to train!