• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Supplementary exercises for karate?

Bluedot

OSU

I need some guidance. I practice Kyokushin karate 3 days a week of 1 hour sessions each. I am training in this art for the last one year and this is my first martial art style. So now you know I'm a beginner. I gave the test for Blue Belt last week (results are yet to be published) and while sparring realized that I need more power in my punches and kicks, flexibility and overall body strength. Additionally, I need to condition my shins and forearms to deliver effective blows and blocks. So my question is, do I have to do any supplementary training like weight/strength training, yoga or some other activity or is it enough to practice karate 3 days a week? Also, please help me on the conditioning part, I really need to perform better in my next exam.

P.S. I'm 20 and weigh around 155 lbs

Bluedot

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
OSU

I need some guidance. I practice Kyokushin karate 3 days a week of 1 hour sessions each. I am training in this art for the last one year and this is my first martial art style. So now you know I'm a beginner. I gave the test for Blue Belt last week (results are yet to be published) and while sparring realized that I need more power in my punches and kicks, flexibility and overall body strength. Additionally, I need to condition my shins and forearms to deliver effective blows and blocks. So my question is, do I have to do any supplementary training like weight/strength training, yoga or some other activity or is it enough to practice karate 3 days a week? Also, please help me on the conditioning part, I really need to perform better in my next exam.

P.S. I'm 20 and weigh around 155 lbs