• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

How to prevent blisters on my feet?

fishnaked

I have a 3 day intensive training coming up and need to figure out a way to prevent blisters. The big toe side of the ball of my feet seem to be the problem area for me. I've been getting hotspots there after only 3 hours of practice. I have wrapped my feet with athletic tape but it seems to ball up rather quickly requiring that I remove it completely or rewrap. Granted, I have very little experience with using tape.

Has anyone tried mole skin...the stuff that comes in patches that you cut to size? I was thinking that one large patch covering the entire balls of my feet might not only prevent blisters but also create some slipperiness in turns taking some torque off from a sore knee.

Any other ideas for blister prevention?

Thanks.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I has similar problems a few years ago and the only thing I found that stopped the blisters was conditioning. Fortunately for me I was having this problem in the summer so I wore flip flops a lot and I sat at my desk at work wearing no shoes.

Regional trick - scuff your feet in the dust right before training. It absorbs the oils and sweat and thus prevents your skin from adhering to the floor.

There's also martial arts shoes.. mind, our tradition always trains in street shoes.

"Anything worth doing is worth doing badly." - Baleia

Regional trick - scuff your feet in the dust right before training. It absorbs the oils and sweat and thus prevents your skin from adhering to the floor.

There's also martial arts shoes.. mind, our tradition always trains in street shoes.

Thanks. Interesting idea! I wonder what kind of "dust" would work best...baby powder, baking powder, or...??? There won't be any natural dust near by so would have to bring something. I have clay. Wonder how that might work? Hmm....