• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Trying to Get Back Into It

Lupin1

Hey guys. Long time no post (on my end, of course). So the main reason I haven't been posting is, of course, I haven't had all that much to post about it. I'm in my 2nd year of living in the desert a very long way from the nearest martial arts class (nearest good one, anyway. I did attempt the semi-local [45 minutes away] mcdojo last year, but quit after a few weeks). I was home for the summer and I went to one class at the beginning of the summer but between my instructor having surgery and me working 50+ hours a week, I didn't get any more than that in. So now I'm back out here in the desert and realizing how bad sitting around on the couch on the computer watching Netflix all day is affecting me.

So I'm trying my best to get in shape (I was going to say "back in shape", but my shape has always really been kind of spherical...). I ordered myself the Power 90 workout system (the easier predecessor of P90X, which I've heard amazing things about but which I'm in no way ready for) and I've commited myself to practicing my kata and kihon for half an hour a day now which I'm going to build up to an hour a day in a few weeks. So I'm hoping that between the P90 in the morning and the karate practice in the evenings, if I can sustain both, I'll hopefully be in the best shape of my life by Christmas, which, sadly, isn't saying much. And of course, I'm going to keep working at it from there.

So now I'm just waiting for my Power 90 to come in the mail and in the meantime I've been waking up an hour early in the mornings to stretch and just get my body used to waking up early and moving and to loosen up so by the time I get my package I won't be so stiff I can't do anything or I hurt myself.

So yeah. That's where I'm at right now. Hopefully since I'll be training more (albeit on my own), I'll also be posting more.