• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Getting back into it....

I'd like to hear the experiences of any here who have returned to martial arts after an extended absence...

I began training in Goju-Ryu at the age of 9 and continued until I graduated from high school. As is often the case with teenagers, I became more interested in chasing girls and getting into trouble than training, went off to college, picked up bad habits, and the rest is history.

I am now a 33 year old overweight software engineer. For some reason, I am again bitten by the bug and find myself longing to start training again. There are no Goju Ryu schools where I live, but there are some TKD schools as well as an Aikido dojo (I'm leaning Aikido).

I have been running and lifting weights in order to get back into some semblance of good shape and feel like I am now ready to begin again.

I'm just curious to hear the stories of others who trained in the past (particularly in childhood) and have returned. How have your perceptions of the martial arts changed? For me, one difference is apparent even before my training begins...as a child, I was awed by the superhero archetype of the karate master and wanted to be like that. Now, as an adult, I'm much less interested in the self defense aspects of MA and am more drawn to art and tradition.

"Mo ichi do!"--Morio Higaonna

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I'd like to hear the experiences of any here who have returned to martial arts after an extended absence. . . .

I am now a 33 year old overweight software engineer. . . .

(I'm leaning Aikido). . . .

I have been running and lifting weights in order to get back into some semblance of good shape and feel like I am now ready to begin again. . . .

How have your perceptions of the martial arts changed? . . .

[A]s an adult, I'm much less interested in the self defense aspects of MA and am more drawn to art and tradition.