• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Anterior Cruciate Ligament Replacement

Hi guys, had mine replace October of last year, wondered if anyone has had it done, and where there recovery is up to etc..

How long did it take you to get back to full movability at karate, and do you still have portions of your leg you cant feel?

Im just at 6 months after the op now, the main problem is that as they replaced the ligament with two of my hamstring ligaments I have quite a substantial deficiency in the strength of my leg now, wondered how people got over this?

Cheers guys x

K

Karate Ni Sentinashi

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

In my last life (ie. career) I worked as a first assit for an orthopaedic surgeon so I can give you some perspective from that end. However, I've never been in your shoes and every recovery in a bit different.

First off, remember that six months out is still early, even by todays advances. You've got time. As for full training mobility, depending on what style your doing and with how much contact you're doing it with, you could be out to a year before your're ready to go 100%. You'll probibly notice a different feeling with the surgical knee even past that, but it shouldn't hurt your performance.

Numbness is to be expected in things like this. It's more common with the patellar tendon repair, but ceratinly not unheard of with the hammie. It should receed gradually. If it dosen't it's only a minor skin numbness, again, it will not hurt your performance.

The strength deficet is the most common complaint with the hammie reapir. Keep up with your therapist. They know what they are doing and will keep you on the right path. Just make sure you're keeping up your appointments. When they cut you lose, and they may have already depending on your md's protocols, keep doing the home program they gave you. This too will pass.