• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Karate not being the choice for self defence?

Kante

Hello,

I'm 15 years old and i've been practising Shotokan karate since i was 7 years old or so.

I've seen some Jeet Kune Do videos last night along with some Bruce Lee footage, and i just loved it, which pretty much left me in confuse.

Is Karate a bad choice for self defence?

In kumite, you're allways in the low fighting stance, and to be honest, I dont know how that would work in a real fight.

In karate, the only punch you ever really use is the "geyagotsoki" (i know that's not how you spell it) but in Jeet Kune Do it's so much more than that, and the defence techniques in Karate are pretty much just blocks and are nothing compared in the ones in Jeet Kune Do.

I just can't imagine myself in a real fight using my Karate teachings, but i dont feel the same when it comes to Jeet Kune Do.

Thanks for reading.

"If you always put limits on what you can do, physical or anything else, it'll spread over into the rest of your life. It'll spread over into your work, into your mortality, into your entire being. There are no limits. There are plateaus, but you must not stay there, you must go beyond them. If it kills you, it kills you."

Bruce Lee

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic