• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kicking technique

Shotokan Dan

Hi

As I'm still fairly new to Karate, I'm having trouble with the sidekicks and roundhouse kicks. Basically, I'm not twisting my hips and turning on the balls of my feet properly when I'm doing the roundhouse, and I'm not positioning my feet correctly when doing the stamping sidekick. My foot seems to go all over the place and have a mind of its own. I'm definitely weaker on my left side, but when we were doing basics the other night, I just couldn't get the movements right at all and was all off balance.

Has anybody got any advice on how to get the kicks right, and also help me to get used to balancing on my other foot when kicking? I'm guessing repetition is the key, but is there anything else and have other people encountered this when starting out?

Cheers

Dan

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hi there Dan,

I feel ur frustration and was exactly the same. What i found helped is after class just practising by myself. Not aiming for power or speed but just watching what my feet did and correcting them while kicking slowly and methodically. After a while speed it up and make sure ur postitioning is right until it becomes second nature. Make sure u really twist the supporting foot out for balance and twist ur hips into the kick as that is what will propel you into it and generate power. Without the hip movement u may find u will just lose balance. as you speed up you will find your kick becomes more fluid, practising slowly will be jerky as you maintain balance but it will help you see where you are going wrong.

Anyway hope that helps, all the best! :D