• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Proper Etiquette for Master Gichin Funakoshi Picture

Dojo Moe

Hello, I'm new to this great site and would like to get some advice from all you experts.

In our Dojo we have a picture Master Gichin Funakoshi which inspires me greatly, so in my living room /Dojo at home I placed a similar picture.

My question is should it be there only when I'm training or is it ok to have the photo displayed at all times.

The reason it stays out is because seeing it all the time keeps me constantly inspired.

I also would not want to be disrespectful or have anyone think that I’m obsessed with Karate (although I am)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hey man what ever chokes your chicken :D

No seriously though if these photos inspire you more power to you however these are not religious figures.

However you might want to ask yourself these questions.

Did Sensei Funakoshi have a photo of himself when he needed inspiration?

How all the great Martial arts did masters that were around before photographs manage to find inspiration?

I feeling is that you are taking the wrong subject to far but if it makes you happy enjoy wholeheartedly.

Just my 2 cents worth.

I say go ahead. You say it inspires you now, but the source of your inspiration may change later on. Or, you may not even need any at all.

I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU WOULD DISHONOR HIM BY PUTTING HIM IN YOUR LIVING ROOM!!! :x

Just kidding, I couldn't help myself. :D

It's just a picture. You can hang it above your toilet if it makes you feel better. Might seem a little creepy though.

"It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenius."

It's just a picture. You can hang it above your toilet if it makes you feel better. Might seem a little creepy though.

Just don't start bowing to him before you go to the bathroom! :lol: