• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

hey

I know this question has been asked before by many people so I am sorry .... I am currently studying kenpo for about three years and I am thinking of trying another style over the summer because my school is cloesd durning those months and Iam also curious as to what else I can learn. can anyone recommend a style that I could take thats different from kenpo? I don't want to get too confused lol :) any advise would be great . Thanks !!!!!

your hands and feet are all the protection you need, you win some you loose some but you live to fight another day !!!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Well I don't know much about kempo....but am I right in thinking its a striking art?

If so, and you want to avoid confusion, why don't you try a more ground based art such as judo or BJJ?

Smile. It makes people wonder what you've been up to.

Gung fu would be great, too. It is different enough from what you presently study to be interesting, yet it will make your kenpo better too.

Respectfully,

Sohan

"If I cannot become one of extraordinary accomplishment, I will not walk the earth." Zen Master Nakahara Nantenbo

"A man who has attained mastery of an art reveals it in his every action." Samuarai maxim

"Knowing others is wisdom; knowing yourself is Enlightenment." Lao-Tzu

Often times when people talk and advocate about cross training, they're talking about mixing up martial arts from two different aspects of the fighting game.

For example, you do kempo, a striking art, which could be grouped with a variety of other styles such as kung fu, karate, TKD, boxing, and muay thai- all these styles would be regarded as striking arts.

Crosstraining in too many striking arts I think is kinda futile, unless you are addressing specifics (i.e. the punching combinations of boxing or the elbows and knees of muay thai).