• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

How to chose a Dojo and or Orginization.

novastorm

At my university I have the choice of joining a JKA affiliated dojo.

http://www.gwu.edu/~jka/. Or a SKA affiliated http://www.gwu.edu/~ska/.

I intend to be serious about this and I was wondering if anyone had opinions on SKA vs JKA or if they have any personal experience with these Dojo’s and as I am a student money is something to consider as both these clubs are under $100 per semester.

Thanks.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

i havn't had any dealings with either personally, however a governing organization isn't nescessarily the best way to pick an individual dojo.

IMHO the best thing to do is go and check each dojo out, watch a couple classes and see how the interaction is between the sensei and the students, what sort of warm-up they use, and what sort of techniques they train, and the entire process involved. Another good thing to keep in mind is the interaction between the students...do they get along, or do they bicker at eachother.

Think before you act, but act before it's too late.

http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/3535/siggydemo58lq.jpg

(Images aren't allowed, but if you want, take a peek for yourself ^ )

I find the most important part, if i was going to another dojo is to watch the instructor. You can look it up i bet something on looking for instructors will be there, there are certain things about an instructor that makes him/her so good at it. One of the things is sometimes the more "fake" instructors really try to get you there, that says thier looking for money only and prob dont care about the students. But yea look it up on google.

"Time is what we want most, but what we use worst"

William Penn

At my university I have the choice of joining a JKA affiliated dojo.

http://www.gwu.edu/~jka/. Or a SKA affiliated http://www.gwu.edu/~ska/.