• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Being able to do the splits of Karate

CapitalKarate

Is it required to be able to do the splits for traditional okinawan kicks? reason asking is when i stretch to do them, i can only get to able one foot or a lil more off of the ground. I'm able to kick above my waist in all the kicks I've been taught. Also, when I sit on the groun with my legs spread as far as pssible (not that far), I can never sit up correctly, I always end up have an arch in my lower back when I get into this position. Is it necessary to fix, and if so, how can I?

Joshua Brehm

-When you're not practicing remember this; someone, somewhere, is practicing, and when you meet them, they will beat you.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
Is it required to be able to do the splits for traditional okinawan kicks?... Is it necessary to fix...

i seriously doubt it altough i have no experience in okinawan... i have that problem with the sitting aswell (i cant go forward very far without arching my back while sitting and having my legs spread apart) and i do fine in itf taekwondo... which contains quite a few strenuous kicks (even if not as many as more flashier styles see: wtf :P)

Edited by mattyj

I've always had terrible flexibility... never even able to touch my toes.. but I've never had any trouble in Shotokan. This may or may not relate to your situation (I don't know anything about Shorin-Ryu :)).

As far as kicks go, I've been taught that if you can front kick to just under your opponents ribs, thats high enough.

"Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go."

- T. S. Eliot