• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What to look for in a dojo and style???

planter007

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
I am new to karate, I have some black belts in my family. I think they are extremely biased and closed minded toward dojo's and styles.

What are your opinions on what I should look for in both????

I think most people that are taking, or have taken a martial art, wil lbe biased towards that art. if they liked it of course.

What you need to think about is what YOU wnt from a martial art and dojo...not what anybody else wants for you. Then you need to find the dojo that best fits what you want.

My nightly prayer..."Please, just let me win that PowerBall Jackpot just once. I'll prove to you that it won't change me!"

Yes I agree with SS. In particular you should start about your motivation. Is it for self-defence, competition, as an exercise or just for the fun? You like more to strike or to grapple? You would like to be exposed to full contact or not? Do you have any particular thing you would like to learn?

Starting from this questions we may help you to select a set of arts that may fits you then you can see if they are available in your area and take a visit to those dojo...and then you can chose.

Wow I elaborated a complete plan.... :) :lol:

Oh sorry I thought we were talking about MA in general while I see we are talking about karate specifically.... Ok most of the things I say are still valid anyway....

I am new to karate, I have some black belts in my family. I think they are extremely biased and closed minded toward dojo's and styles.

Here are the three most important things (in order):

1) The instructor

2) The instructor

3) The instructor