• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Iron Body Conditioning

Etybolik

I started training in the style USA Goju Federation about 4 or 5 months ago and the abuse that some of the people in Goju (mainly the Okinawan forms) can take is amazing. While talking with a friend of mine on the subject of long neglected training methods he mentioned a form of training called Iron Arms, Ironl Chest, and Iron Legs. Martial artists would have training partners strike their forearms, up and down their legs, their entire upper body. all around in just about any area a strike may hit on the main trunk of the body for a sustained period of time. When they healed they were able to take just about that much punishment on their body again without such intense injury occuring to them and eventually would get to the point to where being struck with sticks would do very little damage and could be incorperated(sp) into the training to further strengthen the body. I have not been able to find very detailed information on this myself but was wodering everyone's opnions on it here. I plan to start this form of training once I can find a more reliable source of information on it, I've already begun makiwara training on the maleluka trees near my house and notice a strengthening in my knuckles and wrist.

~~~~~~~~~

To say that you have taken karate and never been hit is to say that you have never taken Goju.

- Goju Saying

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

i heard these kinds of things where if u keep getting hit, u build ressistance, it kidn of makes sense, before u try it though, defnitely see if its safe. wats that makiwara training and wats a maleluka tree?

Im brasilian, but live in the united states. Really enjoying martial arts.