• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Go Kan Ryu Question

jacko

Hello everyone

This is my first post on this forum. I am also a new student to Karate and have a question regarding the Go Kan Ryu style.

The sensei at my club wears a belt that is black with a white stripe running through the centre. I have tried to look into the grading/belt structure of this style, but I can not find this belt/grade in any style. Can anyone take the time to enlighten me to meaning of this as I feel it would be inappropriate to ask directly.

Many thanks

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Hes not a black belt.

Its an instructors belt, kyu grade instructors were them supposedly to show who the instructor of the class is.

However BB instructors were their BB's.

Basically its there so you dont know your instructors grade.

I train with GKR (for the moment) have done for a long time. I have the "honour" of being a BW belt. Its the aspect of GKR that I hate.

MY advice, find a class with a decent actuall BB instructor. That BW bet may be ok to start off with, then go to your regions senior classes.

Thanks for the reply.

Isn't this act of money making dishonesty against all moral/ethical codes of Karate?

I feel quite disgusted that I have been deceived into thinking highly of this chap, being that he is named as a 'Senior Instructor' for my area!

I shall be looking for a new club with a reputable association immediately.

Before I waste anymore money with this charlatan.

Thank you again fro opening my eyes to this. :-?

Jacko

Hmm, if he is a senior instructor he will prob be at most 1 grade below BB.

GKR is alright as far as things go. But its sport karate. What I dont like is it is said to be SD karate also.

Moral ethical codes of karate? Karate is about killing people.. ;)

Dont quit in a hurry. Have a lokk round for other options first.

Do you have previous MA experience?

Where do you live/train?