• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Is this good?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

the number on the scale is pretty insignificant. What really matters is, are you fit? Do you look healthy? Do you feel good?

If so, then 145 lbs at 5'1" is fine.

"If you're going through hell, keep going." - Sir Winston Churchill

well most people would say that at 5'1'' you should aim for around 105 pounds (100lbs at 5', 5lbs for every inch after that). But that doesn't take into account muscle and breasts (those suckers add up!). Also, where the fat is located makes a difference. So long as it is on your lower body (legs and butt), it should be generally okay. If your fat collects around your upper body (chest, abdomen), that's when you should be concerned.

145 does sound like you could stand to lose some weight, but I couldn't say without seeing you (and then I'm not a doctor). Of course, muscle weighs more than fat. But pure weight/height ratios are usually useless. It's possible to be healthy and fit at just about any size (and I imagine if you're here, you do martial arts, and that's a good way to keep fit).

Beka, those numbers seem a bit unrealistic. Maybe if you were one of those really super skinny people who couldn't lift a small rock, that would make sense.

TheDevilAside is right, the number isn't the real important thing.

When I was in my best shape back when I was really competitive on my mountain bike, I weighed 130 lbs, was 5'3", and had 10.2% body fat. Now I'm not as lean but still consider myself to be in good shape, and I'm about 135 lbs now.

If you feel like you could shed some fat to bring your weight down, you'll need to do a lot of cardio; that is go for loooong bike rides, or looong runs as opposed to short and intense.