• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Potential dojo?!?

hisdaughter22

Check this out yall

I just been promoted to 8th kyu and then i had to move cause i graduated college...i located a dojo here in mississippi...the price is $90 for 8 weeks plus a uniform and a free gift..BUT, this school incorporates muay thai, kickboxing, ground combat, and weapons along with the shotokan??? The instructor told me that the women really liked the kickboxing..hmmm...He said that they incorporate that other stuff so the students won't get bored. Yall i really wanna learn shotokan and i'm really not interested in all that other stuff...what do you guys think?? Should I go for it??

thanks

sherry

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Most schools will let you take a few classes to try it out. Ask if you can do that to see if you will like it. You can then make an informed decision. If you want strictly Shotokan, it doesn't sound like the place.

If they don't let you take a couple of classes or watch then do you really want to be associated with them? Also you need to find out how much it will cost after the first two months, including testing fees, etc.

Good luck.

I had to lose my mind to come to my senses.

If you want strictly Shotokan, it doesn't sound like the place.

Now having posted that, you may find that they do a really nice job of incorporating the other disciplines. I like the idea of a stand up school working in some ground work.

I had to lose my mind to come to my senses.

...the price is $90 for 8 weeks plus a uniform and a free gift..BUT, this school incorporates muay thai, kickboxing, ground combat, and weapons along with the shotokan??? The instructor told me that the women really liked the kickboxing..hmmm...He said that they incorporate that other stuff so the students won't get bored.