• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

BEST STYLE FOR GETTING IN SHAPE

I am new to MA and living in a big city so I can choose any style. My doc says I need to find a good aerobic activity that I find interesting so as to stick with it. So I am looking for a style. It doesn't need to be effective for street fighting or anything like that, just mentally challenging and good exercise.

The only other things are that I am tall & skinny and not very flexible at all so those TKD-type kicks to the head are pretty tough for me to do. I went to an Aikido class and liked it but there didn't seem to be much sustained aerobic activity. Does that change as you get more advanced?

Choices are Aikido, Karate, Judo, Jiujitsu, kung fu/wing chun/wu shu, Taekwondo, Hapkido or anything else.

How would you rank them strictly on exercise and how flexible do you need to be for them?

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
It all really depends. You have to be well conditioned in ALL of them...guess it just depends on you, really. TKD will teach you flexibility. Believe it or not, some people go into that art not being able to kick well. :)

Wolverine

1st Dan - Kalkinodo

"Shut up brain, or I'll stab you with a q-tip"

"There is no spoon."

Well heres a list goolsbee:

What it does for you.

Taekwondo: flexiblity, high kicks, braeak boards,

Karate: teach self defence, healtheir excercise

taichi: Teach you self defence calmness

yoga: I don't know but its excercise

Muay thai: Teach you how to fight etc,

taijitsu: self denfece

Renzoken: teach on defence and high kicks

You really don't need to be very flexible to do none of them, in karate if you can kick your head height that is good. So flexible is not really the key, have fun in ma socialty and stay fit.

A karate punch it is like a dasvasted stick blow. Instead, a blow of Kung Was is comparable to a lash with a chain that has attacked, allaltra extremity one ball of ferro