• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Advice on trainin on my own

I have been training in Muay Thai for a total of about 6 monthes (3 last year and 3 this year). But for about for the next four monthes I will have to be training on my own. I have a wavemaster(kicking bag) in my room. Does anyone have any advice on what I can do to keep up? Will books or movies be of any help? Please post your advice! Thanks in advance. :bigwink:

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

To train alone will be very hard indeed. It will be a challenge, but you can do it!! You have the basics, and that's all you need. Write down all of the goals of your body mechanics and work on them often. Don't worry so much about power, but work on hip movement. Set goals, number goals are best when training yourself. Kick the heavy bag 150 times in 2 minutes, for instance. Shadow-box, and if you can, do it in front of a mirror sometimes, so you can check your own form. Heck, if you have access to video equipment, video-tape your sessions.

A good thing to do might be to find a partner to train. Sometimes it might be someone that you'll have to teach the basics to also. But teaching, in itself, is a very good training method.

Good luck!!

Just kick 'em, they'll understand.- Me

Apprentice Instructor under Guro Inosanto in Jun Fan Gung Fu and Filipinno Martial arts.

Certified Instructor of Frank Cucci's Linxx system of martial arts.

I would suggest you make a set program as you would if you were doing weights.

it could go something like this:

Warm up: 10-20 min skipping, jogging etc.

Stretching: 10 min.

Shadowbox: Punch/Kick combinations, 3 min. rounds,

Then bagwork combinations, 3 minute rounds.

Change it round to keep it interesting, I like it when in class we get told "ok now make it up" when shadawboxing.