• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kata: What does it mean to your style?

Sasori_Te

I am wondering how different styles and students of those styles view the importance of kata. I've been studying martial arts for over 14 years and my appreciation for kata only grows. What does kata mean to you and how do you utilize what it has to teach. I would enjoy hearing anyone's answer to this post. Thank you.

Karate Ni Sente Nashi

A block is a strike is a lock is a throw.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Everything.

Kata is what MA is all about. Exercise, Focus, Fighting Techinques, Balance, Breathing, Speed, Power, Relaxation, developing Ki. You name it you can find it in kata and better it by kata practice.

(General George S. Patton Jr.) "It's the unconquerable soul of man, and not the nature of the weapon he uses, that ensures victory."

I practice the Art of Hon-SHin-Do which has its roots in Okinawan Shorie Ryu. The following is from our handbook, we believe kata is the foundation to learning Martial Arts. In our opinion of course. :)

KATAS OF HON-SHIN-DO: