• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Need help escaping head lock on ground

How do you escape from a head lock when you have somebody in side mount but they have your head and are lying on their side slightly? I got my head in a position that I wouldnt get knocked out and could knee, punch and elbow but couldnt get out of the lock... :P

Sorry if it sounds confusing. I'm just learning ground fighting here and there in my karate. :lol:

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
It is kind of hard to get what your taking about, but it sounds like you could just wiggle right out of it. Try getting into a full mount. If you can’t, just them in a side quarter hold. If that still doesn’t work, put a choke on him. There are plenty of things you can do in this position. From what you described, it sounds like a pretty sloppy hold he has you in. Seems like you are the one with the upper hand.

I have been show two diffrent ways...one when they are leaning forward putting pressure on you and one when they are leaning back..If you cross face then and get their head back...You can use you leag to wrap around their head and pull them off...hard to descipe the technique in writing though.,.

That is assuming, after pushing away, his arms are pointing out. With him rolled on one side, and his arms retacted into a headlock possition, and arm bar would be kind of hard to get. Most joint locks of that nature are done when the joint is already extended.

I have my own way;

Hold your hands together, and squeeze your arms (the "sharp" side of your arms) against his larynx. He will then push his head away from you to ease the pain. Then you shoot your nearest leg over his neck and force him down to the ground.

Works for me at least :)

Grappling enthusiast!

Shootfighting as well.