• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

kata applications

aznkarateboi

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Kata bunkai is the backbone of our training. We learn, develop and train them extensively. I will use the moves in sparring although not in competition type sparring.

I could teach kata and nothing else. It is all in there. Study your styles kata and bunkai and you will achieve untold depth in your style.

I keep asking God what I'm for and he tells me........."gee I'm not sure!"

The style i am training in is also kyokushin. we do pracitice kata. I think as far as using them in sparring goes, it depends on the students level. I believe the more they learn then, yes kata can be used in sparring. I'm a beginner and love it (orange belt) and am trying to learn all I can, so I have a question. What is bunkai?

Me :)

We always do applications they are very important and if the situation is there then yes by all means use them.

(General George S. Patton Jr.) "It's the unconquerable soul of man, and not the nature of the weapon he uses, that ensures victory."

It's nice to see so much attention given to bunkai, in the school of shotokan I trained we didn't do very much bunkai. One oyo bunaki pre kata.

I've had to go outside the dojo to a more traditional Okinawan club and train. I make sure my students understand what the kata is all about.

I'm a beginner and love it (orange belt) and am trying to learn all I can, so I have a question. What is bunkai?