• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Isshinryu Karate?

Seraph

Hi I'm a newbie to MA's and am very interested in taking Karate. One of the only dojos in my area teaches Isshinryu Karate but I know very little (actually nothing) about it.

What makes Isshinryu Karate different from say, Shinko-Ryu or another sub-style of Karate?

What's the main focus of Isshinryu?

What does a black belt really mean in Isshinryu Karate (I understand in some arts it means complete mastery others it means just mastery of just the basics)?

Does it focus mainly on the physical/mental/spiritual side or does it round it out?

I've heard that in Karate that students can't react to their mistakes in any other way than just emotionless acknowledgement of their screw-up? Surely this isn't true - is it?

What are some of the common injuries to expect (ex. i've heard that in BJJ there's a lot of damage to ears, cauiflower)?

How many times a week should a person train in Isshinryu to excel in training?

Thanks

~Seraph

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

all beautiful questions, beautiful because they are all about my favorite style! :D let me see how well i can answer them.

will, first a history lesson. Isshinryu karate is a mix of three diffrent forms, Shorin-ryu, Goju-Ryu, and Kobayashi-Ryu. it was created by master Tatsuo Shimabuku and is a fairly recently fordged Okinawain style. It got to the united states as a result of shimabuku's first students, United states Marines. despite its recent upbringing, Isshinryu is very developed and its dojo's are traditional, its hard to tell it apart from the styles rooted early on in karate's history.