• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Seeking advice about schools

Cheezewiz

I found this forum, because a writer at Site-Point, Patrick O'Keefe, listed it in his web sites. It was a lucky find because I am unsure what to do about my daughter's Karate education. I have been a long time www forum participant and realize the large amount of wisdom to be found in bb sites. I am hoping to find a bit of help here.

My daughter is 9 years old, and has been taking Karate lessons at Karate America for 5 months. She loves it, but I am somewhat suspicious of the place. First, I must say, there is much to praise. I particularly like the way they require respect and good behavior, and that they actually discuss concepts like right and wrong, commitment and honor. These are ideas which have been banished from American schools since I was a student in the 50s & 60s. However, I am concerned about the actual quality of the martial arts training she is getting and their business practices and prices. I have no experience to judge them against and no idea what their reputation is. We ended up there, because they offered free after school introductory lessons at her school, and she wanted to join.