• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Why do Traditional Martial Arts suck?

Many threads are posted on this forum saying that Traditional Martial Arts, such as Karate, are useless for self defense. I have noticed that most of the reasoning is one of the two: 1) They use forms. 2) They are traditional and therefore outmoded. Anyone care to provide more specific details on why these arts are "useless"? Edited by aznkarateboi

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ok, first off the katas...

They are useless in a fight but I guess they train you somehow. Maybe for excersise, I am no karate expert though, but if you train in full contact karate you should be fairly effective, I mean karate will help you but if you don't spar full out then how will you know what works and what doesn't?

I take judo and we spar full out but there are no strikes, just throws, wrestling, chokes, armbars and such.

Be as a tranquil pool of water in the woods. Calm, collected, reflecting on its surface all that is around it. Make your own mind such a quiet mirror reflecting the mind of the opponent. Even as your partner's impulse to attack passes through his mind it should be reflected in you.

The safest battle is the one that is never fought