• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Another late intro

Hi,

I have already received a great deal of help in choosing an art from this site, but never came here to do the introduction thing...so here goes.

I am a 32-year-old graphic artist who makes money doing management. I have never been able to get into the working out thing and quite frankly until a couple years ago never felt the need to. But alas, my metabolism has finally slowed to the point where my inactivity has caught up with me. When I was in my early teens, a friend of mine was going to kenpo and I thought that was just so cool, but my mother would never let me do anything that was stereotypically thought of to be dangerous (like football or karate). But I always played baseball and soccer, and up until a few years ago, my buddies and me would get together and play basketball and volleyball. So finally with my gut growing and my wife taking an interest in us getting fit, I decide it's time to go ahead and try karate. My primary motivation being I wanted to do something that would be active enough to get me in shape and would be fun at the same time...learning some self defense couldn't hurt either, and the wife approved, so off I went, woohoo!