• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

in general, is karate good for self-defence?

A_mind_like_water

hi im new here so please dont eat me!

anywho, ive been practising karate for 3 years and have never onece had the opertunity to use it in a real fight (which is a good thing right?)

and basicly was wondering if anyone has any stories (you know the non-made up kind) of how they have used karate tecniques and...you...know..WON?!

if so then what tec's did you use?

Danuall san- "Up you'res OLD man, wax your own DAM cars, im goin out ta get LAID"

-Scott

https://www.worldkarate.net

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I've used the low shin-roundhouse kicks from Gensei-ryu (a kick identical to Kyokushin's) and they worked. It's also about how you train; intense full contact sparring and karate works just fine. Too bad most people don't train that way. So, find a good school with that kind of training.

And I'd suggest a style with low kicking. Kyokushin is good, as are any of it's offshoots (Ashihara is the most "street-defence" oriented, but Seido and the other ones are fine too).

Well, once a dude came at me, obviously trying to reach and grab, I round kicked his left thigh quickly twice with my right shin, he winced in pain, nearly falling down. Then he cussed a bit and gave me the finger while mumbling something and limping away.

Yees, all kind of pad and mit work is great. But hard contact sparring is necessary too.

Welcome....I'm new to the forum too. So I won't eat ya :lol:

In my 9 years in Karate, I've only had to use my skills once. I was a first degree black belt at the time (shodan). My college buddy had just purchased a new house and myself along with other guys headed over for a house party. Needless to say, we had way too much to drink. If that wasn't bad enough, we all decided to head to the bar down the street.

(From what I remember and what my friends have told me.....)