• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Shotokan, Self Defense?

MMouse

Hi all. I am new to the forums, but I have been browsing around for a little while. Seems like a good bunch of people here. I studied Taekwondo for 2 years in high school and did a little boxing. I am looking to begin studying martial arts once again.

My question is how effective can shotokan be for self defense? I understand that the effectivness of every art has alot to do with it's teaching and practicing. What I would like to know is does it include any sweeps or any throws at all? I have heard from various sources that is did. Once again, I know different schools would teach slightly different. But does the true traditional arts include these?

Thanks for any responses .

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
Right on. I will have two schools here which teach shotokan. I will have to look into both. I am very curious though as to whether traditional shotokan taught these techniques. I know there is a fair number of schools which add them in.

Sorry, I'm not a big fan of shotokan. Before I continue, let me just say that I mean no offense to any practicioners and I think Shotokan is very good for spiritual and mental development. However, in its founder's own words (Gichin Funakoshi), he greatly set about simplifying its style and made it focus more upon spiritual rather than pure self-defense.

One good indicator of a school is its punch...If it insists on a full-twist punch where the fist ends up parallel to the ground...don't choose it. A style that emphasizes a 3/4 turn is the best, although a vertical fist is pretty good, but not quite there. I'm not sure, but I think Shotokan does a full twist punch...I've posted all my thoughts on the punch in the strategies and tactics forum.