• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

How have you given back?

Next year I decided to take what I have learned in the martial arts community and give back. After I recieve my black belt (hopefully testing in fall) I am starting a martial arts program for mentally handicapped kids at my school. I have been teaching for over 2 years, and I feel that this is taking my training another step. I will only charge the cost of keeping the program from collapsing :lol:. What have you done to give back to the community?

1st dan Tae Kwon Do

Yellow Belt Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

16 Years Old

Girls kick butt!

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
You can only give back to those willing to take it. I wish everyone would get into MA as we do but I am very selctive of who I teach. However I do a lot of things for the town and community as a teacher, coach and sensei so I never look at is as what have I done for you lately.

(General George S. Patton Jr.) "It's the unconquerable soul of man, and not the nature of the weapon he uses, that ensures victory."

I'm only a green belt, so I would say that I would teach what I have been taught. Most of it has been mental stuff. Yes I have good technique, but that's not all I have learned. I have learned confidence, self esteem, ect. That is more important to someone that has never had this kind of thing. If and when I open my own dojang (which will happen), I will teach my kids these things. On top of awareness. I want my kids to have the confidence I didn't have or the self esteem. Martial arts changed me in this area. So I want to repay that, and show the folks I teach the same :)

Laurie F

I have instructed kids and Sailors in the United Sates Navy and continue to spread the teachings of the MA to everyone I meet.

"We work with being, but non-being is what we use" Tao Te Ching