• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I've been doing taekwondo for almost two years, and now I'd like to expand my horizons by cross-training in hapkido. My taekwondo school also offers hapkido, and I would love to learn from my current instructor. The hapkido class practices an impressive array of strikes and joint locks, but since our dojang isn't equipped with heavy mats they don't actually practice throws. Instead they simulate throws, but they don't actually throw or get thrown. From what I've read throws appear to be an integral part of the hapkido curriculum. Can I learn effective hapkido from this school, or should I look elsewhere?

Thanks for your help! :)

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
We do throws in my school (I do TKD). We actually do the throws. We learn to fall first. If you school teaches you how to fall properly, it shouldn't hurt when you get thrown no matter what you fall on. Just my opinion, though :)

Laurie F

OH NO!!!! maybe it won't hurt Now, but it surely mess you up in a long-term..

I suggest you to get mats.. Specially while you learn..

And yes, to learn how to throw, you need to actually ThROW the person. You need your technique to flow and it won't if you stop in the middle. Is a techniques that isn't been developed as it fullest. Pretending your are throwing is not the same as Throwing.

In my Hapkido dojang we also simulate the throws. Being a white belt, I've only learned one throw, but it's one that really couldn't be practiced safely since the intent of the throw is to have the "throwee" land on their head instead of their back.

I'm not sure if other Hapkido throws are done with this same intent, but if so, it would make it much harder to actually practice throwing.