• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

When should a student study Aikido?  

10 members have voted

1. 1. When should a student study Aikido?

• It's okay to take as your first/only style
    • Only after at least a brown belt in another system
    • Never, it's not a practical self-defense system

IMHO, the art of Aikido is system best taken after a student has already attained some level of proficiency in karate/tkd/kung fu/grappling et al.

In my experience, when I got to the extent to where I could "see / sense / feel" attacks coming (i.e., I got my noggin popped enough times)... it was then I thought I was ready to take on the challenge of trying to actually control the attacker.

When I studied aikido, I was put off by the many "advanced" aikido students -- especially some shodans -- who thought they knew it all. When we actually sparred, they realized the couldn't control attacks thrown in real-time. (Kenpo rocks... it's like a whirlwind coming that you don't expect).

Anyway, that's my two cents worth...

Ronpo

"Aikido to admonish... Kenpo to punish..."

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

I think Aikido is OK as a primary martial art, though I must advise I have not taken Aikido except in a seminar (me and my seminars :D).

The fact that you practiced at all in "real time" shows me that your dojo was at least attempting to address a spontaneous - as opposed to a rehearsed - attack, though. Defending against the unknown is important in self defense, in my opinion

I'll let the Aikido experts defend their style's effectiveness, which is kind of a subjective term anyway; I suspect it has lots of good information for the right teacher/student to bring out.

I think people should be able to take whatever martial art they want, even if they don't want to learn to defend themselves :o. The Aikido practitioners I've met weren't concerned about "fighting" per se, though, and that's fine too.