• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

MILITARY COMBATIVES

THERE IS SOMETHING THAT HAS BEEN GETTING TO ME FOR A WHILE NOW,IT'S THE CURRENT HAND TO HAND INSTUCTION FOR THE ARMY.FOR SOME REASON THE TOP BRASS THINKS BJJ IS THE WAY TO GO,NO IT'S NOT I'M SORRY TO SAY.A SOLDIER NEEDS TO BE ABLE TO DEAL WITH AN ENEMY SOLDIER(S)QUICKLY AND EFFECTIVELY,BY LIMITTING THEM TO THE GROUND IT'S A GOOD WAY TO GET THEM KILLED.I KNOW I'M GOING TO GET FLAK OVER THIS TOPIC,BUT IT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.AS A SOLDIER I REALLY CAN'T SEE MYSELF ROLLING AROUND WITH ALL MY GEAR ON,WHICH SOMETIMES WEIGHS AROUND 45LBS TO INCLUDE A BUTT PACK FILLED WITH STUFF.YES WE CARRY WEAPONS,BUT I'M FOCUSING ON AN URBAN WARFARE SCENERIO WHICH MEANS CLOSE QUATERS.YOU MUST ALSO TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION THE GROUND WHICH YOU ARE FIGHTING ON,WEAPONS AT AHND BOTH NAUTRAL AND MANMADE,ONE NEEDS ONLY TO WATCH"SAVING PRIVATE RYAN"TO SEE WHAT I MEAN,I'M REFERIN GOT THE GROUND FIGHTING SCENE.ONE DAY DURING COMBATIVES I ROLLED WITH A GUY WHO STUDIED BJJ,HE TOLD ME HE WAS GOING TO MAKE ME TAP,I REPLIED HE WASN'T GOING TO MAKE ME TAP,HE ASKED WHY I PULLED OUT MYN SPYDERCO AND SAID BECAUSE I JUSTED STABBED YOU IN THE KIDNEY,SEE MY POINT..I WOULD WELCOME OTHER THOUGHTS ON THIS TOPIC.REMEMBER MAKING AN ENEMY TAP WON'T EARN YOU POINTS..IT MIGHT GET YOU KILLED.. :x

PEACE KEEPING MISSIONS ARE EASY,YOU JUST DON'T PULL THE TRIGGER....

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi warmaster

It worried me when I compared the 1992 and 2002 US military CQB manuals. The former used a lot of taijutsu derived techniques and as you said the latter is heavily influenced by BJJ/NHB. It seems that fashion is alive and well in the army too!