• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

About TKD Sport Rules

I have never seen a TKD match in place, but I was watching the Titan Games on ESPN2 and they had a couple of mathces on there and all there was was kicking!

Now before you think to yourself, "hey what a loser!" I do know that TKD is mostly kicking, but is it really ALL kicking? It would seem logical that there would be an occaisonal punch here or there.

............or is TKD a real rival of western boxing?

"By the time I was fifteen, I became a white belt."

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Olympic style TKD is almost all kicking techniques, very little if any hands. They go continuously for rounds and the judges add up points scored-yes like boxing.

Traditional TKD is what you will see in Open Tournaments and is a mixture of techniques in a point sparring format.

I am a TKD stylist an I prefer point sparring myself. :wink:

8)

"A Black Belt is only the beginning."

Heidi-A student of the arts

Tae Kwon Do,Shotokan,Ju Jitsu,Modern Arnis

http://the100info.tumblr.com/

Me too, Heidi. I visited my TSD dojang, and I found that I am much better at point sparring than what they do in WTF TKD. They allow hand techniques AND take-downs (not at tournies for the take-down part, though). I found that I have a mean and quick back fist :D

Laurie F

I'm glad someone started this thread, because I've been dying to ask. Can someone explain the point system? I have a tape of some matches, but the commentary is in Korean.

I noticed too at the Olympic trials it was mostly kicking, but after watching several matches it was hard to figure out what exactly was scoring points. What do you get/lose points for? Are some attacks worth multiple points? Thanks :)

Drop by and say hi! - http://www.hbtaekwondo.com - http://www.kangselite.com