• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Questonable instruction.

BKJ1216

I went to the local goju-ryu dojo today. I watched the whit belt class. It was intresting because as I looked at the shedule I noticed that one class teaches most of the ranks. Like instead of having on rank in one class they have mixed ones. Like green - purple and three instructors to teach them all. On the other hand the shudokan dojo has different classes for every rank, about 16 instructors, still not sure how many instructor per class, but there is one rank in every class instead of mixed. Which do you guys think is better instruction?

White Belt- Shudokan Karate

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
Well, the Dojo here where I signed up teaches White-Yellow-Orange and then everything else together. I couldn't tell you much because I'm not an expert on the matter, but, in the long run in Goju, everything goes back to the basics, so your never to advanced for the other belts. And you can also offer your advice to the lower ranks. I don't know my thoughts at least :)

Rule #1: Play the game to the limit. Damn the consequences.

Personally, from an instructors standpoint, I like to have the students broken down into Beginner (white,orange,gold), Intermediate (green,purple,blue), and advanced (brown,red). This allows for more focus on rank specific curriculum and allow lets them see the higher rank level without being overwelmed. Instructors who teach all belt levels must be very efficient in multi-tasking in order to be effective.

8)

"A Black Belt is only the beginning."

Heidi-A student of the arts

Tae Kwon Do,Shotokan,Ju Jitsu,Modern Arnis

http://the100info.tumblr.com/